Night Play (Dark Hunter, #5) by Sherrilyn Kenyon

night-play-dark-hunter-5-by-sherrilyn-kenyon

Title: Night Play
Series: Dark Hunter
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon

Bride McTierney has had it with men. They’re cheap, self-centered, and never love her for who she is. But though she prides herself on being independent, deep down she still yearns for a knight in shining armor.

She just never expected her knight in shining armor to have a shiny coat of fur…

Deadly and tortured, Vane Kattalakis isn’t what he seems. Most women lament that their boyfriends are dogs. In Bride’s case, hers is a wolf. A Were-Hunter wolf. Wanted dead by his enemies, Vane isn’t looking for a mate. But the Fates have marked Bride as his. Now he has three weeks to either convince Bride that the supernatural is real or he will spend the rest of his life neutered – something no self-respecting wolf can accept…

But how does a wolf convince a human to trust him with her life when his enemies are out to end his? In the world of the Were-Hunters, it really is dog-eat-dog. And only one alpha male can win.

“I think infatuation is like a garden. If tended and cared for, it grows into love. If neglected or abused it dies. The only way to have eternal love is to never let your heart forget what it’s like to live without it.”

“Life is gamble, It’s harsh and painful most of the time, and it’s not for the timid. Spoils go to the victor, not to the one who doesn’t even show up for the battle.”

“I’m human,” he said in a tormented tone. “And I’m not.” He dropped his hand to her shoulder. “I never knew softness,” he breathed. “Not until the moment you touched me in your store. My life is violent and dangerous. Its dark and twisted and no place for someone like you. I have more people wanting me dead than I can count. They will stop at nothing, and you..” He ground his teeth before he spoke again. “You’ll never want again for anything in your life. I swear it on what little bit of human soul I have left.”

“There was nothing humane about humanity. At the end of the day, they were all animals with only survival instincts.”

Vane passed the mashed potatoes across Bride to Fury, who stared at them with a fierce frown.
“What are these?” he asked.
“Potatoes,” Vane told him.
“What did they do to them?”

“Hi, my name’s Vane and I howl at the moon late at night in the form of a wolf. I sleep with your daughter and don’t think I could live without her. Mind if I have a beer? Oh and while we’re at it, let me introduce my brothers. This one here is a deadly wolf known to kill for nothing more than looking at him cross-eyed, and the other one is comatose because some vampires sucked the life out of him after we’d both been sentenced to death by our jealous father.”

“No one has ever touched me like you do. You’re like a whisper. Gentle, soft. Soothing. In my world, the people only shout and scream. But you… you’re my haven. “

“The only way to have eternal love is to never let your heart forget what it’s like to live without it.”

“You keep talking like that, Vane, and I might be forced to keep you.”
“You keep looking at me like that, and I just might let you.”

“Someone needs to take that stick out of your ass and beat you with it”

“I don’t want you skinny, Bride. I like you as you are.” His breath tickled her neck as he spoke and sent heat all over her. “My people have a saying. Meat is for the man, the bone is for the dog.”
“Yeah, but you’re both.”
“And when given a choice between ribs and steak, I go for top choice every time.”

Rating
star5

Characters
Bride: female5
Vane: male5

Leave a Reply

