Night Pleasures (Dark Hunter, #1) by Sherrilyn Kenyon

night-pleasures-dark-hunter-1-by-sherrilyn-kenyon

Title: Night Pleasures
Series: Dark Hunter
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon

Dear Reader,

Have you ever wanted to know what it’s like to be immortal? To journey through the night stalking the evil that preys on humans? To have unlimited wealth, unlimited power? That is my existence, and it is dark and dangerous. I play hero to thousands, but am known to none. And I love every minutes of it.

Or so I thought until one night when I woke up handcuffed to my worst nightmare: a conservative woman in a button-down shirt. Or in Amanda’s case, one buttoned all the way up to her chin. She’s smart, sexy, witty, and wants nothing to do with the paranormal–in other words, me.

My attraction to Amanda Devereaux goes against everything I stand for. Not to mention the last time I fell in love it cost me not only my human life, but also my very soul. Yet every time I look at her, I find myself wanting to try again. Wanting to believe that love and loyalty do exist.

Even more disturbing, I find myself wondering if there’s any way a woman like Amanda can love a man whose battle scars run deep, and whose heart was damaged by a betrayal so savage that he’s not sure it will ever beat again.

Kyrian of Thrace

“Oh God, I just kissed a vampire!”
“Oh Gods, I just kissed a human!”

“I thought only a wooden stake through the heart killed a vampire.”
“A wooden stake through the heart will kill just about anything. And if it doesn’t, run like hell.”

“What are you, nuts? The man’s a vampire!”
“Yeah, but he’s a really, really sexy one.”

“Oh no, no, no! Are you going to suck my blood?”
“Do I look like a lawyer to you?”

“You like being vague, don’t you?”
“It was a choice of being a Dark-Hunter or a prophet. Personally I like the slash-and-kill stuff much more than prayers and the lotus position.”

“So you’re the infamous Acheron.”
“Lord and Master of the great barbarian horde that roams the night.”

“You know, I’ve walked this earth for over eleven thousand years, my lady. I have seen things in my life that are unimaginable to you, and you ask me if I doubt you? Lady, I doubt the very air you breathe.”

“It’s not your fault. You had no way of knowing I’d traded my soul. It’s not exactly how I start out conversations. Hi, I’m Kyrian. I have no soul. What about you?”

“You know, for the record, I hate to take orders. But! I realize I’m in over my head. You have no idea how much I hate all this supernatural garbage. So I’m willing to listen to you, but you better start acting like I’m a person and not some mindless blow-up doll.”

“Anything you need, you tell him and he’ll get it for you. If he offends you in any way, let me know and I’ll kill him when I get up.”

“What is a Dark-Hunter? Is it like the Vampire Slayer?”
“Yes, I’m a small, emaciated teenage girl who struts around fighting vampires in earrings they would rip out of my ears and shove up my ass.”

Rating
star4

Characters
Amanda: female5
Kyrian: male5

Leave a Reply

