The Darkest Night (Lords of the Underworld, #1) by Gena Showalter

the-darkest-night-lords-of-the-underworld-1-by-gena-showalter

Title: The Darkest Night
Series: Lords of the Underworld
Author: Gena Showalter

All her life, Ashlyn Darrow has been tormented by voices from the past. To end the nightmare, she has come to Budapest seeking help from men rumored to have supernatural abilities, not knowing she’ll be swept into the arms of Maddox, their most dangerous member – a man trapped in a hell of his own.

Neither can resist the instant hunger than calms their torments… and ignites an irresistible passion. But every heated touch and burning kiss will edge them closer to destruction – and a soul-shattering test of love…
Though they carry an eternal curse, the Lords of the Underworld are irresistibly seductive – and unimaginably powerful…

“Sometimes what we want isn’t what we need.”

“I tried to tell you. You said you didn’t care, remember?”
A muscle ticked below his eye. “You should have told me anyway.”
“While you had barbells within your reach? Please. I’m Disease, not Stupid.”

“Once I learned, I went on-line and ordered every romance novel I could find. They’re fairy tales for grown-ups.”

“That means life itself is a fairy tale. Like the characters, we all live and love and search for a happily-ever-after.”

“I’ve traveled all over the world for the Institute, but I never dreamed I’d meet someone like you.”
“Strong?”
A chuckle escaped her. “Yes.”
“Handsome?”
“Of course.”
“Sharp of wit and skilled with a sword?”
“Absolutely.” An other chuckle. “But I mean a man… friend… guy. Oh, I don’t know what to call you!”
He savored her amusement—and her earnest words. “Just call me yours. That is all I want to be.”

“Aren’t all fairy tales based in fact? You yourself are supposed to be nothing more than a myth. Pandora’s box is a story parents read to their children at night,” she countered. “That means life itself is a fairy tale. Like the characters, we all live and love and search for a happily-ever-after.”

“You are mine, woman, and I am yours. Until you, my life was desolate. I existed, but I didn’t truly live. Now I live, even in my death.”

Rating
♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Ashlyn ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥
Maddox ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Leave a Reply

